The Patrick Conner Award


Patrick Conner was a long-time collaborator with Theatre Rusticle and a very dear friend and supporter. He appeared in Dinner at Seven-Thirty (2001), And One Night It Snowed (2004), Wish (2005), The Stronger Variations (2006), April 14, 1912 (2007-2010).


The Award honours long-time collaborator Patrick Conner, whose belief, generosity, honesty and hard work helped to bridge the gap between passion and reason. The Patrick Conner Award recognizes those individuals – artists and leaders – whose interests intersect with Patrick’s work in the Theatre, and/or in Sustainability, in particular Sustainable Food Production.   The Award recognizes two individuals annually, working in or from one or both of these pursuits (Theatre or Sustainability or both), with a cash prize.

In 2016, we celebrated theatre artist Georgina Beaty and organic farmer Sarah Smolkin. 2015 award winners were actor, curator, film-maker Aviva Armour-Ostroff and food activist Kimberly Edwards. 2014 award winners were Lea Ambros – Cook, Theatre Artist, Activist and Queer Mother, and Taarini Chopra – Bio Researcher, Publications Coordinator/Seeds Of Diversity. The inaugural award winners in 2013 were James Davis – Founder of the Toronto Bicycle Music Festival, and Estelle Shook – Theatre Director and former Artistic Director of Caravan Farm Theatre.   In 2017, we were delighted to celebrate dancer/choreographer Jennifer Dallas.

PCON 2017-30
2017 recipient Jennifer Dallas. Photo by Mike McPhaden.

Be Part of Patrick’s Legacy

To help ensure the longevity of the Patrick Conner Award, please make a donation. You will receive a charitable tax receipt for your contribution and you will be helping us bring big ideas and individuals together. To donate to the award, cheques may be made payable to:

Theatre Rusticle 121 1/2 Rusholme Rd. # 2  * Toronto, ON  *M6H 2Y6 or donate online through Canada Helps . Search for Theatre Rusticle and make your donation.

The Patrick Conner Award has been generously supported by: Andrew Arnold, Suzanne Ballantyne, David Bennett, Franco Boni, Dr. Julia Brown, Joshua Burston, Beatrice Campbell, Michael Catlin, Derrick Chua, R.Kelly Clipperton, The Conner Family, Steve Cumyn, The Danforth BIA, Andrea Davis, Lynne Garret, Anne Hardcastle, Leif Harmsen for Die in Debt Theatre, Michael Healy, Matthew Helmes & Beth McMahon, Astrid Janson, Brooke Johnson, Jon Kaplan, Ron Kennell, Manitoba Harvest, Maureen Kirkpatrick, Marsha Kirzner, Marie-Josee Lefebvre, Melinda Little, Allyson McMackon, Mary Lou Morgan, Eric Mykhalovski, Kathleen Peets, Susan & Gene Phillion, Michelle Ramsay, Rise Espresso, Todd Sherman, Lucy Sharratt, Stephen Skrilic, Paul & Nancy Smolkin, Sarah Garton Stanley, Julie Stewart, Nancy Webster.

For additional information, please contact us at